Extreme server log growth with "decrypt encrypted objects"

MckMurrayMckMurray Posts: 37 Bronze 3
edited September 23, 2015 4:01PM in SQL Compare 11
I am new to SQL compare and was trying it out using the default project options when I noticed that every compare operation was adding ~400 MB to my error log file. Looking in the logs there were thousands of rows of what appear to be pages of data. Over the course of two days it completely filled up the available space on my drive.

With some troubleshooting this appears to be due to the option "decrypt encrypted objects", which I have since turned off.

Is this expected behavior?

Comments

• That's definitely not expected behaviour - if there isn't anything too sensitive then it would be useful to send some logs to support@red-gate.com so we could see what's going on.

In the meantime, you should be able to change the logging options here: https://documentation.red-gate.com/disp ... +log+files - hopefully this fixes the problem for now.
  • Hi Mark, currently SQL Compare is set to "No Logging" so I have no SC-generated logs. To be clear, the logs I am talking about are the SQL Server error log files, the ones which can be found by going to Management > SQL Server Logs in SSMS.

Elsewhere in the forums I came across this post from several years and many versions ago which may be related? I'm definitely seeing "DBCC 3604 ON" and "DBCC 3604 OFF" in the logs.
    https://forums.red-gate.com/viewtopic.php?t=10817
  • Oh, I see. Yeah, Compare needs DBCC TRACEON 3604 (also DBCC DBINFO and DBCC PAGE) to decrypt objects that have WITH ENCRYPTION set on them so that we can deploy them properly. Background: We're doing something similar to http://sqlity.net/en/1617/decrypting-en ... e-objects/ but using DBCC PAGE instead of the DAC in order to access the system base tables. I haven't heard of it causing a problem to this degree before, though - is there something else that could be filling up the log?